A Typical Day?

Along with millions more I guess, I’ve spent the morning ignoring the snow and ice outside by burrowing around in this huge global internet resource that so many of us now take for granted. Having chosen to take the Higginson Report as the starting point for this iltinfe journey log, today I’ve been looking around for interesting/incomplete/inaccurate bits of the post-Higginson map before setting off.

Discoveries: I was reminded by the early-1996 THES article announcing the Higginson Report’s arrival – Techno jobs fear in FE – how, relatively recently, lots of FE folk actually saw IT as a direct threat. Is that gone now? The Wikipedia entries for Gordon Higginson and for AoC NILTA were both, I believe, a bit misleading and I made some additions. Perhaps (since the FEFC Higginson Report wasn’t even mentioned on his Wikipedia page), even Gordon himself didn’t see our ILT report as very important amongst his many other accomplishments. But it was, for our sector.

And, as often happens, I came across a reference to another possibly valuable resource that I don’t have and can’t find – does anyone have a copy of FEFC’s 1999 “Networking lifelong learning: An ILT development strategy for FE” that I can see a scan of?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

